Skip to contentSkip to left sidebar Skip to footer


1. Elected Members: – 42
(a) The Pradhan Panch of the following Zilla Panchayats: – 32
1. East No. 1.                                                                      6.                                                              Ilam
2. East No. 2.                                                                      7.                                                          West No. 1.
3. East No.3.                                                                       8.                                                          West No.2.
4. East No.4.                                                                      9.                                                            West No.3.
5. Dhankuta.                                                                     10.                                                            West No.4.
11. Palpa.                                                                            22.                                                            Bara Parsa.
12. Gulmi.                                                                          23.                                                             Rauthat.
13. Sallyana.                                                                      24.                                                            Mahotari.
14. Piuthan                                                                       25.                                                                Sarlahi.
15. Dailekh.                                                                       26.                                                                  Saptari.
16. Doti.                                                                            27.                                                                    Siraha.
17. Dandeldhura.                                                             28                                                                   Morang & Jhapa.
18. Baitadi.                                                                         29.                                                          PaIhi and Majhkhand.
19. Jumla.                                                                            30.                                                              Khajhani & Seoraj.
20. Chisapani.                                                                       31.                                                  Banke and Bardia
21. The Valley Proper                                                          32.                                                   Kailali & Kanchanpur.

(b) The Pradhan Panch of the following Nagar Panchayats :- 4

33. Kathmandu                   34. Patan.                              35 Bhaktapur.                              36. Birganj
Note: The boundaries of constituencies may, taking the areas and population into consideration, be redrawn so as to give equal representation as far as Possible, but the number of total seats shall in no case vary.
(c) List of the interests to be represented in the Rastra Sabha by election and the seats allotted to each.
Interests (Constituencies)-
(i) Merchants and traders 1 those paying Rs. 100 or more to the Government as customs duty or market fees shall elect one representative from among themselves. 1
(ii) Zamindars (Landlordas) and holders of Birtas 1 Those owning 20 Ropanis or 10 Bighas of land or their equivalent in the hill districts or more or those paying Rs. 1,000 or more to Government as land revenue shall elect one representative from among themselves. 2
(iii) Intelligentsia Matriculates or Madhyama or those with higher qualifications shall elect at least a graduate or an Acharya or those having equivalent qualification in Nepali. 1
(iv) Government servants 1
(v) Labour 1
Note: Rules and Regulations concerning Sections (iv) and (v) shall be framed by Government.
2. Nominated members – 28
Shree Teen Maharaja will nominate these.